Skip to content

Bonjour! Welcome to my Blog!

September 12, 2010

In these pages I am planning to address a few things:

  • Explore this amazing country of France, digging out hidden gems and great new ideas for each and every one of you so that you can take the trips you really dream of.
  • Examine the impact we as tourists can have when we travel and visit other places.
  • Understand what steps we can take to minimise that impact.
  • Look at what the French are currently doing in all things sustainable and see what is on offer for the discerning tourist.
  • Meet a few of the local characters who can share their ideas and projects with you.

I myself have lived in and around France on and off since 2001, and started visiting here as early as 1982 when I arrived all alone off the ferry to meet a French family who had strangely agreed to adopt me for 6 weeks and integrate me into their family life. This experience was when I first fell in love with the lifestyle, the food and the great French outdoors. Various other members of my extended family have also either come to live here or at least visit regularly. And now I have finally cemented the link by marrying a local: this is often essential to help me understand some of the things I see, hear or experience which are outside of my own cultural experience which can seem so bizarre, quaint or even maddening to me.

France is a fascinating, varied country and all of us can find something to please. There are beautiful, wild places to experience, fantastic beaches, azure blue sea or wild ocean rollers, culture by the bucketful, historic towns and cities, some of the best cuisine and finest wines, the list just goes on and on…

However, as with so much of what we see and hear these days, there is a risk that the places we love to travel to may suffer irreparably if we don’t treat them well. I am passionate about preserving the beauty of our planet and the special places on it. Driven by this passion I determined to create this blog, and perhaps take things further in the future, to put you in touch with the French who are active in sustainable accommodation and tourism and will welcome you to their own special corner of the Hexagon (as France is affectionately known).

Please feel free to leave your comments, suggestions or requests.

Thanks for your interest,
Kate

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Libby permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:51 am

    Hi Kate

    Check out Ecovallé. We’re staying there next summer and will report back…

    Lib

Leave a Reply

